PDA

View Full Version : Sage DS2

Johnny P.
05-05-2003, 11:06 AM
Good morning all,

Anyone have an opinion about the Sage DS2 fly rod? I'm thinking of picking up a 4pc. 8wt., but I can't tell if the salesman is blowing smoke about the quality of the rod.

I know Sage doesn't make anything half-assed, but it is a lower end Sage rod...about $285 or so. The website says it's a beginners rod...I'm not a beginner, but it's a nice stiff pole and I don't see too much diff. between it and the higher ends.

Any suggestions would really help thanx!

Johnny

Mark Cahill
05-05-2003, 11:14 AM
I don't feel the need to shell out hundreds more for the flavor of the month (or the season). I like the DS 2 and would buy another...

Mine's a 10 wt.

Johnny P.
05-05-2003, 11:22 AM
Hey Mark...thanx for the feedback.

So you like the DS2? I really like it, but I don't want to cry about it later just to save some bucks. I'm just outta college and poor so it's a matter of economics, but it seems like legitimate choice.

Is it a fairly fast action rod?

ssully
05-06-2003, 12:44 AM
Jonny B,

Sorry to disagree with Mark ( Hi Mark!) but I would recommend a Temple Forks rod. Half the money with a lifetime warranty. I think the DS2 is soft by comparison. To really know cast them both (or a bunch of different rods) then make up your mind.

FWIW, I'm not dissing Sage Rods because I own a RPLXi thats a cannon but a different price point. I also snapped my TF rod and got a replacement no questions asked.

my .02

Roop
05-06-2003, 08:42 AM
I'll back up Sully - I used to recomend the DS2 for a beginner rod - the 10 weight using a 9 weight line but, TF is really turning the industry around.

Buy the best rod you can afford - at this price point it's the TF, buying a "beginner" rod is just a waste of money as your abilities improve and your rod's will not.

Mark Cahill
05-06-2003, 09:00 AM
Frankly, I think we place way too much emphasis on rods...