PDA

View Full Version : what lines should I buy...

detra
02-03-2004, 02:57 PM
Hi,

I'm new to SW flyfishing and am wondering what 2 line combination covers most conditions. I will be fishing mainly from a boat in boston harbor and the flats of monomoy and nauset, with some beach break fishing for good measure. I have acquired a 10wt redington as well as a teton tioga with an extra spool. I'm thinking maybe one intermediate sink and a 350 grain fast sink? Or do I need a floating line for surface action?

thanks,

keith

MatthewP
02-03-2004, 03:10 PM
In my opinion, you should be all set with the two lines you've mentioned. I have three lines for my saltwater rig, a floater, an intermediate, and a 375 grain. I can say I've never needed the floater (although some swear by them). 90% of my fishing (from shore) is done with the intermediate. You can fish surface patterns with the intermediate quite successfully. In fact, some argue that the intermediate imparts more action to the surface pattern by pulling it further under with each strip.

Tight lines
Matthew

sandy
02-03-2004, 03:47 PM
I agree with MatthewP. Those two lines should be fine for the harbor. I rarely use my floating but that may just be out of laziness. There can be some great surface action in the harbor in the spring and fall but during the summer doldrums you often have to fish the deeper structures, in which case the 350 would be good.

ChuckD
02-03-2004, 04:00 PM
with that line combo. Floater not as necessary plus the intermediate more wide-ranging in application to varying scenarios. If you are flats fishing Monomoy you can still get away with the intermediate(maybe better with crab patterns).

catspaw
02-03-2004, 07:49 PM
Hi,