PDA

View Full Version : backing as running line

eng5
03-30-2004, 11:47 PM
Hi gents.
Has anyone ever tried using regular backing as your running line for shooting heads? Just wondering while I am going through cabin fever, although I have been out casting as much as I can until my fingers freeze!

paflyfisher
03-31-2004, 06:49 AM
Let me preface this by saying that I am far from an expert on this topic. But why should I let that stop me! :)

I think the main concern has to be tangling. If you can strip the backing into a basket and keep it from tangling, I should think it could work. Also check the finish on the backing versus the finish on running line. You need it to be able to slide easily through the guides with minimal resistance.

I recently spoke to an acquaintance who told me he and his gang use (I think he said 30 lb) mono as a running line and can generally shoot line much farther than with traditional running line. All I can think of is the birds nest I would end up in my basket if I tried that!

All I would say is try. Experiment. As long as it doesn't kill you, it will ultimately make you a better fisherman.

But again what do I know. I am far from an expert on shooting heads. I will defer to those who know them better than I.

Ray
03-31-2004, 08:44 AM
To help ease your cabin fever......try it.

Based on my experience with having a lot of backing in a small area (sink and basket) it tangles easily and tightly. It may "hinge" badly too.

But maybe you can find a cheap shooting head line and cut off the part you want, knot it to some heavy backing (Tuna rigging type) and try it.

Look at this way, it will be much easier to say you cast the whole line :)

Ray

bluefishercat
03-31-2004, 09:39 AM
Amnesia mono is $5
cortland braided running line is $10
I just bought some Orvis Int running line at their Lake George outlet for $11
I would love to hear more about the 30# mono since I have a spool and have been tempted to try it.
Pete

paflyfisher