PDA

View Full Version : crab fly 1st attempt

Robstar55
02-17-2005, 03:13 PM
Hey, im pretty new to this forum and havent been flyfishing for bonefish that much(about 4 times). Im going again alittle later this year and have never fished nor tied a crab pattern before. This is my first attempt at one, i didnt follow any recipe, which i plan to do later. I just kinda made it up as i went along based on what ive seen online and on the water. The picture on the right is the underside view. Please let me know what you think of it and how you could fish the crab flies so that a hungry bonefish couldnt resist it :brow

teflon_jones
02-17-2005, 03:23 PM
That's a very nice tie. :) I'd fish the crab the same way you fish a Gotcha.

ruge13
02-17-2005, 03:32 PM
Looks great.

How well does it sink with foam claws that size? The lead weight you have looks nice n' heavy, but does that fly get down fast enough to be effective with the claws? I honestly know very little about bone flies or have very little experience with foam claws so thats why I am asking, not necesarily to suggest improvment, but more because I really don't know.

Iwan
02-17-2005, 03:41 PM
Are the claws made of foam ? I thought they look like knotted rubber bands cut to shape. Maybe I'm wrong but that's what I'm thinking.

Whatever it is........that's a damn nice fly.......sorry crab --127-3-

Iwan.

Robstar55
02-17-2005, 03:41 PM
The claws are actually a rubber band knotted and cut to shape, but i can see now how it can look like foam in the picture (still kinda new to the picure taking haha). I still havent put the fly through the "bathtub test" but thats comming up next. Thanks for the support guys!

Iwan
02-17-2005, 03:49 PM
One piece of advise I can give you is to apply some head cement to the knot in the claws to prevent it from coming undone during fishing. Flexament works great for this.

Iwan.

ruge13
02-17-2005, 04:10 PM