PDA

View Full Version : Casting help

clavinr
04-16-2005, 10:28 PM
Hi, I'm really new to fly fishing. I think I might be able to catch more fish if I could cast more than 10 feet.

Can anyone recommend a good instructor, or could I get some pointers on the beach? I live in Onset, so Cape Cod and teh South Shore works best for me.

Thank you. --126-3-

BobG
04-16-2005, 11:01 PM
I'm sure a lot of guys here could get you started in the right direction. What weight rod, line weight/type are you throwing?
But if you're looking for professional advice to really jump start your fly fishing, perhaps check out the Orvis school. I believe it's still held in Chatham May-August.
This is just an educated guess on my part, but I'll bet there are some excellent dvd's on the topic as well.

clavinr
04-17-2005, 05:36 AM
I looked up the Orvis school...looks good, just a little pricey $430 for a two day clinic. I picked up a couple of tapes from the library, that helped. I am seriously considering the Orvis school...just the money scares me off, especially if it is a large or slow moving group. Thanks for the help!

albacized
04-17-2005, 05:51 AM
As far as classes, you may be able to get off alot cheaper if you try smaller scale shops, such as Bears Den in Taunton. It may be worth it. I taught myself and in hindsight, I'm certain I lost some good years of catching fish because of it due to the slow learning curve involved. I started learning back in 1993 and have been what I'd term proficient with the fly rod for only something like 5 or 6 years. And even with that, I'm not the smoothest caster out there, but can at least get the job done now.

SageBoy
04-17-2005, 06:20 AM
There is a video that you can pick up from George Roberts that may help you a little. I picked it up and watch it every once in a while. It does have a lot of helpful tips.

stevec
04-17-2005, 07:46 AM
call up the local guides ands ask one of them if they are willing to give you an hour of their time.