PDA

View Full Version : Conversion Waders

jpkil318
05-11-2005, 11:41 PM
Hey sorry another wader question
I am curretly looking to upgrade my waders and was wondering if anyone has tried the conversion waders made by a couple of the companies. These waders are boot foot but I guess the boots lace so its like wearing stocking foot with boots but it will have the benefits of bootfoot waders. I was wondering if anyone who has tried these have worn them in the surf and beachs to see if these still have problems with sadn getting in.
Thanks

boba
05-12-2005, 12:15 AM
I'm interested in the lace-up bootfoots too. I'll need to replace my current bootfoots and would like the ankle support. I can't buy any normal boots due to wide feet.

billsea
05-12-2005, 05:06 AM
I have been using the Orvis Silver Label bootfoot waders for about 5 years. These are the ones with the lace-up boots built in to the wader. They are great. No extra boots to carry around. The built in boot is smaller and lighter than any boot that you would use with a stocking foot wader. They are better for stream fishing because the smaller outline means less force from the running water, and they are smaller so they get between rocks a little better. I use them in the surf all the time. Never had any problems with sand because there is no place for it to collect. Also there is no way to get wrinkles in the stocking foot when you put the boot on. I am lucky because mine fit very well. This is always the most important thing when buying shoes. The lace up feature gives a nice tight fit, and I have hiked a log way in them with no problem. You will always be the first one into the water because they are much easier to put on. JMHO

fabrahamson
05-12-2005, 07:52 AM