PDA

View Full Version : New techniques For tuna this year

Hardtail Hunter
02-12-2009, 03:40 PM
What new techniques or equipment are you going to try this year
Last Year the slugos were the hot ...
I'm thinking of trying a plastic ballyhoo spreader bar south of the islands after having a white marlin take a swipe at a plastic ballyhoo daisy chain.
The other thing Im trying is to work on targeting the tuna east of chatham on spin and fly better so that maybe I wil go out there with no trolling gear--127-3-

Roostahfish
02-12-2009, 04:15 PM
I think you'll be hard pressed to catch these tuna on a fly next year, pending the same class of fish come back. I'm no expert, but the difference in what a 70-80# fish fights like compared to a 100-120# is night and day.

Personally I don't want to fight these guys on anything smaller than a 50...again pending the fish from last year show up 30-50# bigger. Maybe I'm spoiled, but after 15 minutes on lighter gear this become a lot more work than fun. Or maybe I'm just getting old........

CMP
02-12-2009, 04:35 PM
Yep, Roostah is right. Break out the big stix! I have a 15 wt and am waiting to hear on a 20 wt...

CMP

Soundking
02-12-2009, 05:44 PM
So, first let's operate under the assumption that the fish first seen in '05 return. There isn't another push of the perfect sized ones, and we resigned to fishing that god forsaken sandbar parking lot.