PDA

View Full Version : brewster flats guide

bigcamel33
06-22-2009, 10:55 AM
thinking about hiring a guide for a trip this friday, anyone have any recs on a fly fishing oriented flats guide? would booking a wading trip be a bad call? i'll have access to a yak where i'm staying in brewster, but total novice on fishing the area, and fishing from a yak

thanks

swstandring
06-22-2009, 02:45 PM
I enjoyed a Barnstable / Brewster trip with Capt Dave Peros a few years back. Would not hesitate to fish with him again.

justin080799
06-22-2009, 06:11 PM
Dave is a great guide with a 18 or 20 skiff that can get into skinny water, can work with fly or light tackel and has been at it for a long time, knows the water real well.

He is very reasonable in price also. I have been trading e-mail try to setup a day to get out with him.

http://www.captdaveperos.com/

Rob

hal11
06-22-2009, 07:07 PM
I would easily recommend Jon for a light tackle Brewster area trip. Have been with him many times and always done well for topwater stripers and blues. 508-454-7272. He had a segment on a Cabelas show a couple of years back. If you call him say Hal recommended him. Last year he ran his trips out of Sesuit.

dlangan
06-23-2009, 07:35 AM
No doubt the guides mentioned are great! I have certainly heard there names in enough places. A question to consider - are you looking to learn the area so you can fish on your own (wade/yak) or from a boat? If you are looking to learn to fish wade/yak on your own, you may want to discuss that as one of your objectives with your guide. Even if you are in a boat, if the guide knows your interest he'll likely throw you some pointers on access points, fising spots, and tides.

Good luck! Nice tide Friday!!! Hoping for good viewing weather

bigcamel33
06-23-2009, 09:07 AM
Thanks guys - Peros is booked, so I'll check in with Hyde. I wish this was about learning to fish there on my own, but I only get to the cape about once a year now...a shame