Forum Navigation

Search

Old 07-09-2002, 08:07 AM

Boat dilemma

Hey guys. Been browsing your site for a while and wonder if you might be able to give me some input. I need to figure out what to do about a boat. I troll for salmon on Lake Champlain and have just started running down to the Cape for stripers. I have a 1977 Mako 19 with no motor (blew it last year). Saw the Maritime Skiffs while I was in Chatham last week. Here is my problem: obviously I would like to have only one boat. Should I get a new motor for the Mako and and set it back up or opt out of it and look for a deal on something like the Maritime. I might need a new trailer for the Mako to tow it any distance and also replace the wiring which I can do myself. One day I think Mako and the next I think Maritime 20'. I think that either boat would fit my needs well. Would appreciate any input you might have.

Hank
Old 07-09-2002, 09:05 AM
Administrator

How's the hull...

I've got some experience with older boats...

I'd evaluate what you have on hand first. How good is the hull? The older hulls all used wood as the core for the transom and for the stringers. Wood, as we unfortunately know, does not last for ever.

Perhaps the best thing might be to get a marine surveyor or very experienced hull guy to take a look at the boat. Even if there are problems, it might be worth fixing it rather than buying new. Especially since the 19 mako is known as a good hull.

Then, if you're convinced that the hull is sound, look for a left over year or two old engine (that's new). You may find something on the web. I've had good luck with Atlantic Outboard

I've got to think that you're better off repowering and retrailering your mako.

Let's do some rough math:

New Engine - Call it $6,500
New Trailer - Call it $3k
(or replace and repack your bearings, rewire, and buy a good spare tire, $500)

Either 7k or 9.5k vs. a new maritime which will run a whole lot more...