Forum Navigation

Search

Old 05-01-2005, 07:32 PM

Westfield

Fished the C&R section above Knightville Dam, working my way up with buggers, a couple nymphs, and eventually and dry. Cool start with no fish or insect activity in the morning. Sun broke through around 1pm with a good mayfly hatch about an hour later. Still no visible activity. Mayflies had the water all to themselves. I studied one pool for a good 45 minutes and nadda. The hatch was great to witness, even if trout weren't rising to them (mayflies are so graceful). Not sure of the water temp., but my guess it is still a little cool for surface action. This was my first time fishing this location, so maybe I'm missing something? Any words of wisdom would be welcomed.
Old 05-01-2005, 11:15 PM

the Gorge

Quote:
Originally Posted by iBfishin
Fished the C&R section above Knightville Dam, working my way up with buggers, a couple nymphs, and eventually and dry. Cool start with no fish or insect activity in the morning. Sun broke through around 1pm with a good mayfly hatch about an hour later. Still no visible activity. Mayflies had the water all to themselves. I studied one pool for a good 45 minutes and nadda. The hatch was great to witness, even if trout weren't rising to them (mayflies are so graceful). Not sure of the water temp., but my guess it is still a little cool for surface action. This was my first time fishing this location, so maybe I'm missing something? Any words of wisdom would be welcomed.