Forum Navigation

Search

Old 01-06-2008, 08:44 PM
Pre(y)dator

Los Roques + kayak?

I am going down to Los Roques for 8 days in mid-February and will be fishing for bonefish with a guide 2 or 3 days and DIY the rest of the time. It's my first time going there and I've already profited immensely from some of the posts here on Los Roques, so I won't ask some of the usual first-time visitor questions.

My specific question has to do with bringing a kayak down. I've got an inflatable kayak with a hard hull that collapses down to suitcase size. I've traveled to South America before with it and had to deal with small planes. I'm aware that the flight to Los Roques from Caracas is on a small plane, that baggage is subject to weight restrictions (surcharge over 10kilos), and that in general it might be a logistical nightmare getting the thing from Caracas to Los Roques. Assume, though, that I manage to do so -- the question is, will it have been worth all the trouble? I understand I'll be restricted to the "Recreational Zone", including Gran Roque and a handful of islands, but will the kayak in fact give me greater accessibility to pancake flats or other interesting fishing spots within that area? (My thought is I'd paddle to an interesting flat/island, anchor and wade). Or would I have to paddle for like an hour to get anywhere good? I just don't have a good grasp of the scale of distance between islands and flats within the recreational zone.

So to those that have some familiarity with the place, what are your thoughts on the cost/benefit of bringing a kayak down to Los Roques? Thanks in advance.
Old 01-08-2008, 12:13 PM

Might work for you but